2020 Hugo Award Finalists Announced


The world may be upside down, but the Hugo Awards are forever! The Hugos are the longest-running fan-voted awards in the genres of science fiction and fantasy, first bring presented in 1953. The awards are generally given out during the World Science Fiction Convention, which is in a different host city every year. Sadly, the 78th Worldcon, aka CoNZealand, set to take place in (you guessed it) New Zealand, will have to be virtual this year. The Hugo ceremony will therefore also take place online.

Today, CoNZealand announced the finalists for this year’s Hugos, voted on by 1,584 people, who submitted 27,033 nominations. Those who were members of last year’s Worldcon, An Irish Worldcon, and members of this year’s Worldcon, CoNZealand, were eligible to vote, however, only CoNZealand members will be able to vote on the final ballot and choose the winners. You can still purchase a Supporting Membership on the CoNZealand website to be eligible to vote. You can find out more about that here.

Hugo Awards 2020 Nominations: Final Ballot

Best Novel

  • The City in the Middle of the Night, by Charlie Jane Anders (Tor; Titan)
  • Gideon the Ninth, by Tamsyn Muir (Tor.com Publishing)
  • The Light Brigade, by Kameron Hurley (Saga; Angry Robot UK)
  • A Memory Called Empire, by Arkady Martine (Tor; Tor UK)
  • Middlegame, by Seanan McGuire (Tor.com Publishing)
  • The Ten Thousand Doors of January, by Alix E. Harrow (Redhook; Orbit UK)

Best Novella 

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Diablo 4: Early Access Start Time, Install Times, and How to Join
Charlie is Leaving Casualty After 37 Years and Frankly, Who Can Blame Him?
Fanatical Launch Incredible Steam and VR Bundles
Ready Steady Cook’s Unlikely Celebrity Guests
Alien: What’s Going On With the New Movie and TV Series?

Leave a Reply